Eduardo Jiménez Mayo
Literary Translator, Writer and Senior Lecturer of World Literature

Bruno Estañol: Collected Fiction (1989-2003)

Bruno Estañol: Collected Fiction (1989-2003)

Author: Bruno Estañol

Translator: Eduardo Jiménez

Paperback: 451 pages

Publisher: Floricanto Press

Language: English

ISBN: 978-0-915745-84-5

About the Author: Bruno Estañol (Frontera, 1945) was trained in Medicine and Neuroscience at the Mexican National University and at Johns Hopkins Medical School. He began publishing fiction in 1989 and has consistently received enthusiastic reviews in some of Mexico City’s finest newspapers, including La Jornada and La Crónica de Hoy. He is the recipient of the José Fuentes Mares National Prize for Literature, the San Luis Potosí National Prize for Short Stories and The Silver Juchimán, the latter bestowed for excellence in Tabascan letters. His rare blend of authentic regionalism and cultivated universality has earned him praise among such notable critics of contemporary Mexican fiction as Russell M. Cluff and Howard Quackenbush of Brigham Young University.  

Description: The fictional narratives collected in this volume are mainly set in the State of Tabasco, Mexico, during the turbulent time period running from the Mexican Revolution to the late 1950’s. Occasionally, the author takes us to places outside the realm of tropical Mexico, staging some of his stories in New England, Germany, England, India, Palestine and Paris; yet he always remains faithful to his penchant for exposing both the beautiful and sinister sides of humanity, while concurrently manifesting a keen sense of humor. His skeptical, ironical, slightly philosophical brand of humor resonates with the work of such fellow Latin American writers as Juan José Arreola, Jorge Luis Borges and Ernesto Sábato.


View a sample page